Pre-Nashville Days: The U.K. Connections: I

Warmest greetings!

As mentioned in the “Pre-Nashville Days:  The Louisiana Connections”, I had been a musician, singer, songwriter, and recording & performing artist long before ever setting foot in Nashville, Tennessee.  Ever since my Junior High School days until my first visit to Nashville and the soon-to-follow Nashville recording contract, I had been actively involved–in some capacity–in the ‘music business’, for lack of a better description of what I did.

Over the years, I have performed…all over the world…to as few as a handful under a banana tree in the Philippines to as many as 18,000 in an outdoor music festival in West Australia; and, all size venues and crowds in between.

My pickin’ and singin’ and story tellin’ soon enabled me to travel internationally.  And, my first major international trip was to the United Kingdom.  The venues & crowds varied in size and focus, but each opportunity was thoroughly enjoyed by yours truly.

On one trip/tour to the U.K., I had the honor of performing with the Singing Cameron Family from Aberdeen Shire, Scotland.  They were famous, internationally, for writing some wonderful & powerful praise and worship songs.  From prisons to concert halls to outdoor music festivals to churches to huge tents to the smallest of street corners throughout the land, we would sing our hearts out!  I will always have the fondest memories of those experiences!

Then, there were trips/tours to the U.K. where I played all of the same types of venues aforementioned (plus a few more) as a solo act; some acoustically and some with a back up band (composed of U.K. musicians).  One of my bass players at an outdoor concert event grew up with and was friends with the guys from The Kinks!  How cool is that?!?  🙂

Another fond memory is playing a large venue near the famous Scarborough Fair…and, actually attending the festivities!

And…in my ‘down time’…I had the joy and pleasure of touring many wonderful British castles, abbeys, museums, galleries, et cetera.  One of my absolute favorite places to visit (and hike) is the Lake District in England….simply amazing!  Oh…and visiting Liverpool actually seeing the Mersey River, the Cavern, and having fish & chips at a ‘chippy’ where the Fab Four would grab a bite!  🙂

Well, that’s enough for now.  Stay tuned!  Much more to come!

Ciao for now…Your pal,

Scott  🙂

About Scott Carter

*Nashville Recording Artist* *International Charting & Performing Artist* *Singer/Songwriter/Musician* *Actor* *Philosopher* *Somewhat Bohemian & Gypsy Adventurer*
This entry was posted in Pre-Nashville Days and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

