The Nashville Years: III

Warmest greetings!

While on a flight back from the U.K. after having done an acoustic tour (or, ‘unplugged’, as they call it), I was seated beside a very nice lady from Ireland.  She was the publisher and editor of a popular Irish magazine.  Unfortunately, the name of the publication eludes me.  Just a few months prior to this, my very first Nashville album had been recorded, released, & distributed.  And, if memory serves me correctly, we had released 2 or 3 songs to Country Radio in the U.S.A. and overseas…and they had charted.  People who know me will verify that I rarely meet a stranger; I’m a fairly friendly, easy going, laid back individual.  Well, eventually, conversation turned to our careers.  When I told her my name, she immediately said, “I know you!”.  She said, “You sing that song, ‘Feed The Children’!”  I was flabbergasted!  “Yes…that’s me”, I said.  “They play your song on the radio in Ireland!”  How cool is that?!?

I remember playing venues all over England & Scotland, on that trip.  And, I recall riding the train from Manchester to Aberdeen, Scotland while making stops along the way.   At each train stop, some passengers would disembark and new ones would hop aboard.  I have the fondest memories of striking up conversations with folks from all over the U.K..  I admit it.  I love the British (Scottish, English, Welch, & Irish) people; always have, always will.

I have never really taken it for granted nor have I stopped being somewhat in awe of the power of the media.  And, sometimes we entertainers may forget that each time a radio station (terrestrial or internet) or tv station/network or any other broadcast source plays our music (audio only or audio/visual), our names and voices and lyrics and emotions and messages are being transmitted to people; in their homes…in their cars…at work…while on vacation…while on a flight…et cetera.  And, our music may touch and impact them during a particular, special event in their lives!  Maybe our song gave them hope and strength during a hard time in their lives.  Maybe our song imprinted on them during a celebratory time.  And, that impact may be very deep and long lasting!

Just a few months ago, I had the privilege of meeting a major, iconic celebrity who has been around for quite a while.  Though my hit singles in Country Music happened during the late 1980’s and early 1990’s…with just occasional ‘spurts’ of renewed interest since then…this wonderful, renewed interest in me and my music over the past couple of years was really unexpected.  I thought most folks had forgotten about ‘yours truly’.  But, John told me something I will never forget and will always treasure.  He said, “Scottie…once you’ve made your mark, even though you may think it small…they never, ever forget you!”.  Thank you, Mr. Travolta.  That meant the world to me.

Well, that’s enough for now.

Ciao,

Scott  🙂

About Scott Carter

*Nashville Recording Artist* *International Charting & Performing Artist* *Singer/Songwriter/Musician* *Actor* *Philosopher* *Somewhat Bohemian & Gypsy Adventurer*
This entry was posted in The Nashville Years and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

